Faculty of Science, University of Amsterdam

Faculty of Science, University of Amsterdam (2002-2009)

Laurens Jan ten Kate, Henk de Weijer, Johan Rooijackers, Francine van Loon, Oscar Backus, Mateo Kuijpers

With our assignment for the Faculties of Science of the University of Amsterdam, all relevant faculties are merged into one building and designed by three architects: AHH, Rudy Uytenhaak and Meyer en Van Schooten. This merging of faculties makes it possible to create dubble and/or more efficient use for a wide range of functions such as lecture halls, computer facilities, library, restaurant, etc. It also becomes financially possible to realise unique speical features such as a theatre, café and sports facilities. Merging thus leads to a faculty with more and more advanced functions and possibilities, organised here along a passage-like inner street.

Read more about this project in an article by Pierijn van der Putt in de Architect of September 2009 (Dutch only).


Science Park 904, 1098 XH Amsterdam

Gross floor area

8.350 m2


University of Amsterdam


Jeroen Musch and John Lewis Marshall